top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnnabel Farnood

Librarians - books - slightly confused

So, this PhD just stepped up and got a bit more real today. I am now at the end of my third week and my feelings have been a little lost. I have tried to form some structure to prepare me before I begin to write. What is hard is that, it is difficult to know if what I am doing is exactly right. Today put things into a little more perspective...

Meeting the librarian was a great help and anyone who is a first year doing a PhD, I would say get this done as soon as you can - especially before starting your literature review.

The librarian looked at my title and told me it may be hard as my topic is so current and there may not be much literature already written about it, which will make my search strategy process a little more difficult. We then continued to narrow down key words to process my search. He recommended I use databases such as Medline, Embase, CINAHL and Psychinfo. We explored some literature and realised there wasn't much secondary research to do with my topic. I decided to do a little of my own research looking at systematic reviews on current topics to see how they have managed and what styles were used. It will be challenging but I believe it will also be achievable.

That's my task for the next week now, starting to use search strategies on databases to find relevant articles for my research - wish me luck!



2 views0 comments
bottom of page