top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnnabel Farnood

Heading into 2018 and a small reflection on my PhD'17

I can’t believe it’s the beginning of a new year already! We are almost at the end of the first month which has gone way too fast - time flies when you’re a PhD student, and of course having fun.

I am now four months into my PhD and semester two has just begun. I have done lots of reading - probably the most amount of reading I have ever done. Scoping literature has been time consuming but so beneficial to me for understanding what literature is already out there on my topic and learning from these publications. Knowing your topic well makes a big difference to your work output.

Since October I have scoped literature on my topic, came to a decision about my research question and then changed it again, and again... Now, I have finally made the decision of my research question and formality and currently conducting my research protocol. Doing your doctorate can make you feel like you’re having days where you haven't progressed that much and days where you are delighted with what you have found but actually, every day is progress.

My research has changed slightly and then changed again but if it wasn't for all the reading I had done earlier on in my studies, this process would be more difficult. The first few months is important to get used to your surroundings, meeting new people and introducing yourself to the doctorate journey. All three of these things are almost as important as work output. It stands you in great stead for your journey.

Now that I have done all that, I am in the midst of writing my research protocol for submission to prepare myself for beginning my systematic review. My supervisors: Professor Bridget Johnston and Professor Frances Mair are both experienced and great advisors. We have had around five supervisory meetings now and each one is always refreshing, when leaving my head is always bursting with new ideas which is inspired by the vast amounts of knowledge and experience both my supervisors have.

SO, we now go into 2018. Time has flown and resolutions have been said. I am a year older (literally), I just turned 24 on the 3rd of January, and ready to take on this beautiful new beginning of a year with everyone. Do new things, challenge yourself and be happy. I wish everyone a wonderful 2018.

(Below are some photos of myself enjoying my office space a little too much, having fun with the camera whilst scoping that literature. Thanks to my fellow student, Maria Drummond for the office photo shoot).





8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page