top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnnabel Farnood

Becoming a nurse...

My choice to become a nurse was an easy one.

Nursing is a career that can lead you to many different routes, and that’s one aspect I find fascinating. There is never a day that is the same, you learn something new in every shift, and you grow and develop with the profession.

I began my undergraduate in Adult Nursing at Edinburgh Napier University at the age of 17. Napier University gave me some of the best years of my life. As it is a smaller university it was a lovely community and everyone basically knew everyone. I played for the first team in Netball and was President of the Badminton team. I really recommend doing extra activities on top of your degree as it allows you to meet new people and is a great strategy for 'taking a break' from work. I was shortlisted for sports person of the year and also received university colours for my achievement in sport. I also got shortlisted for the 'most inspiring student of the year' - I am not too sure how this happened but I was very happy! As I said, I loved my Napier experience - it was the beginning of my nursing career, it made me grow as a person and made friends I’ll have for the rest of my life.

Nursing gives me inspiration every day. Every patient I meet brings something new and every challenge I am faced with is never the same. There are so many different pathways nursing can lead you to and the learning never stops. How refreshing it is to go to your job every day and knowing it will not be the same as yesterday? My choice to become a nurse has been fulfilled every day since I started this career. Below I have shared a couple of photos of myself graduating from my first BSc degree in Adult Nursing from Edinburgh Napier University. I also managed to make it onto the front cover of the University for the past few years, score!





20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page